CNP Logo CanticaNOVA Online Catalog
CNP Home
Catalog Home
Order Form

Liturgical Index
Seasonal Index
Resource Index
Alphabetic Index

Online Catalog Order #: Qty:
Shopping Help Go to Checkout

The Solemn Organ

- Tim Knight

Use: General
Required Resources: organ

Here's a collection of music for those times when the organ need be solemn. British composer Tim Knight has given us three pieces for profound moments:

  • Solemn Prelude
  • Meditation: Reflection
  • Prelude for the Fallen

The first piece begins quietly, exploring thematic material, with occasional solos in right or left hand. The music increases in volume, ending with rather full organ.

The second piece draws its title, Meditation: Reflection both from its contemplative tone and the musical technique employed: most of the work is a canon between the highest voice and the pedal at the octave (a "reflection").

The last piece in the collection is perhaps the most evocative. It was written in England on September 12, 2001, as the images of the fallen World Trade Center towers, of the destruction at the Pentagon, and of the loss of life in a field in southwestern Pennsylvania were flashing across the television screen. Prelude for the Fallen is dedicated to "The victims of the September 11, 2001, terrorist incident," The composer develops his main theme, beginning with four eighth notes (perhaps for the four sites involved), into a concise and poignant prayer for the many lives lost in those violent acts.

Mr. Knight lives in Leeds, England, and directs the Heritage Singers, a group he founded in 1993. They have made several tours to the USA, including one to North Carolina, Maryland and New York in the summer of 2003.


Order #: 6057
Price: $5.95


- Organ/Instrumental
- Ordinary Time
- Organ

Home / Catalog Home / Order Form
Liturgical Index / Seasonal Index / Resource Index / Alphabetic Index

CanticaNOVA Publications / PO Box 1388 / Charles Town, WV 25414-7388

Send website comments or questions to: